Di Perna and Mascherin Take Away Three Each At Rangers' Year End Awards Ceremony

By: Alyscia Warner - Ranger Action on KW Now - Local News
| Published 04/04/2017


Rangers hold end of season Awards Ceremony at the Aud

Hora Named Best Defensive Ability For Third Year In A Row

The Kitchener Rangers officially closed out the 2016-17 season with their annual Rangers’ Awards Ceremony tonight at the Dom Cardillo Arena of the Kitchener Memorial Auditorium.

Leading the way were Dylan Di Perna and Adam Mascherin, who took away three awards apiece.

Di Perna was named Best Offensive Defenceman, Humanitarian of the Year and Best Performer in the Playoffs while Mascherin was awarded the Three Star Award, Team Scoring Leader, and Most Valuable Player.

Seven other Rangers’ earned awards, including Darby Llewellyn for Outstanding Team Effort; Greg Meireles for Rookie of the Year; and Joseph Garreffa for Most Improved Player.

Rangers’ captain Frank Hora was named the winner of Best Defensive Ability for the third year in a row – the first time in team history a player has won the award in three consecutive seasons.

The Rangers’ four graduating players; Luke Opilka, Jake Henderson, Andrew Burns and Doug Blaisdell were each presented rings and their jerseys from this season, while overagers Di Perna, Llewellyn and Hora were presented with their captain’s jerseys, as well as a commemorative frame including photos of their time in a Rangers’ uniform along with a copy of the official game sheet from their first OHL game.

Head coach Jay McKee was also presented a special frame of photos and the official game sheet from his first win as a coach in the OHL by the three overagers.

Complete list of 2016-17 winners:

Charles Chalkin Memorial: Best Performer in the Playoffs – Dylan Di Perna

The Charles Chalkin Memorial Award for Best Performer in the Playoffs is named after former Rangers’ director from the late 1960’s/early 1970’s, Charles Chalkin.

Some previous winners include: Brian Bellows, Gregory Campbell and John Gibson

3 Star Award Presented by 570 News – Adam Mascherin

Each time a player is chosen as 1st, 2nd or 3rd Star, points are given to the player and accumulated at the end of the regular season. Mascherin was named 1st star, six times; 2nd star, 12 times; and 3rd star, once.

Some previous winners include: Mikkel Boedker, Jeff Skinner and Ryan MacInnis

Herchenrader Family Trophy: Best Defensive Ability – Frank Hora (*third consecutive season)

The Herchenrader Family Trophy for Best Defensive Ability was donated by former director Alfred Herchenrader, his father Jake and their family.

Some previous winners include: Larry Robinson, Steve Eminger and Dan Kelly

Kitchener Rangers Most Popular Player Award – Jake Henderson

Likability, respect, inspiration, and leading by example – these are just a few of the qualities that have belonged to the Rangers’ Most Popular Player – as voted on yearly by his teammates – over the years.

Some previous winners include: Paul Coffey, Jeff Skinner and Gabriel Landeskog

Jim McGeachie Memorial Trophy: Outstanding Team Effort – Darby Llewellyn

The Jim McGeachie Memorial Trophy is named in honour of former left winger Jim McGeachie, who passed away suddenly in a car accident in the summer of 1980 at the age of 19 while a member of the Rangers.

Some previous winners include: Mark Montanari, Matt Halischuk and Michael Catenacci

Bob “Snowy” Schlieman Award: Best Offensive Defenceman – Dylan Di Perna

The Bob ‘Snowy’ Schlieman Award is presented to the Best Offensive Defenceman on the Rangers’ squad. The award is named after Rangers former longtime assistant trainer Bob ‘Snowy’ Schlieman.

Some previous winners include: Andre Benoit, Ryan Murphy and Max Iafrate

Les Bradley Memorial Award: Most Improved Player – Joseph Garreffa

The Les Bradley Memorial Award is named after longtime Rangers trainer Les Bradley. Bradley was a mainstay on the bench from 1969-1986, then after retiring as the team trainer, spent more than 15 years as a team ambassador in the press room.

Some previous winners include: Matt Pepe, Mike Morrison and Cody Sol

Ted Scharf Humanitarian Award, Sponsored by KSA – Dylan Di Perna

The Ted Scharf Humanitarian Award, sponsored by the Kitchener Sports Association, follows the KSA motto of “True Sportsmen Make Good Citizens.” This award is in recognition of the Rangers player who contributed most to our community during the regular season.

Some previous winners include: David Clarkson, Jason Akeson and Ben Fanelli

Michael Pappert Memorial Trophy: Rookie of the Year – Greg Meireles

The Michael Pappert Memorial Trophy, named after a former Rangers director from the 1960’s, acknowledges the efforts, accomplishments and great strides made by one of the Rangers rookies during the past season.

Some previous winners include: Scott Stevens, Mike Richards and Radek Faksa

Jim Reilly Trophy: Team Scoring Leader – Adam Mascherin

The Jim Reilly Trophy for Team Scoring Leader is named after Rangers’ past director, Jim Reilly.

Some previous winners include: Dwight Foster, Derek Roy and Josh Leivo

Blueline Club Trophy: Most Gentlemanly Player – Connor Bunnaman

Presented to the player who best embodies the sportsmanship and respect for the game in true Rangers fashion.

Some previous winners include: Paul Reinhart, Nick Spaling and Tobias Rieder

Jim Malleck Memorial Trophy: Most Valuable Player – Adam Mascherin

The Jim Malleck Memorial Trophy for Most Valuable Player is named after former Director and Past President through the 1960’s and into the 1970’s, Jim Malleck.

Some previous winners include: Derek Roy, Mike Richards and Jason Akeson

Channer’ Best Dressed Player – Fan Choice Award – Jonathan Yantsis

The Channer’s Best Dressed Player was determined by the fans in an online contest from January – March this season.

Rangers’ players visited Channer’s Men’s Apparel in Uptown Waterloo, selected their own outfits, and took part in a photo shoot in-store. The players were split into five groups where fans would vote for their favourite player or favourite look.

The finalists of each group (Dylan Seitz, Jake Henderson, Frank Hora, Darby Llewellyn and Jonathan Yantsis) faced off in the final, where Yantsis collected more than 80,000 votes to come away as champion.

Each finalist was awarded a $250 gift card to Channer’s, while Yantsis took home $1,000 for being named a finalist, and also winning the contest.